PDA

View Full Version : What the heck am I doing wrong?!?!

Fox
02-17-2009, 01:27 PM
I am incredibly frustrated right now. I am new to saltwater and have been waiting for my tank to cycle since Dec. 29th. I have gone from doing several tests a week to weekly tests because the tank just isn't cycling. I have seen my ammonia spike twice only to have it return to 0.25 and my nitrite level is still at 0.05...I have even taken my water to Big Al's for fear that my test kit is having issues.

I have about 50 lbs of live rock in the 33 gal tank and I know that nothing happens fast in a saltwater tank but I also know that it should only take 4-6 weeks for the tank to cycle and I am approaching my 8th week.

What the heck could I possibly be doing wrong???

Leah
02-17-2009, 01:36 PM
That sounds like alot of rock in there. I have used a 33 gal to cure rock and when I put
in 50 lbs it was pretty full. I wonder is it live rock? Do you have sand and is it live? It is
a little frustrating hang in there. It gets better.

fencer
02-17-2009, 02:07 PM
Tank should have cycled by now even it your rock is dead. You can buy bacteria in a bottle that you can use to salt the tank. Or you can just find somebody with some sand...a cup or so and salt you tank that way. The last way is to put some fish in it to start the cycle. Mollies are cheap ...... Put the light on the tank and see what grows

Fox
02-17-2009, 02:09 PM
Yes it is live sand and I am starting to wonder if it was live rock as well but I bought it from a person off this board who said it was so I can only assume it is...I just hope that he didn't take advantage of my newbie status but I don't think that is the case as it has growth on it...
I have pictures of the tank on my Facebook page if you think you can tell by looking at it my name is Brad Mulders...

Whatigot
02-17-2009, 02:13 PM