PDA

View Full Version : 280g At the Office

PFisher
02-14-2009, 03:59 PM
We are doing a bunch of renovations at work and have decided to put in a 280gal reef tank. Since I have been running a 30g at home for several years they are looking to me for advice, but there is a big difference between a 30 and a 280. I have been looking through the forum and have gleaned many ideas, but still have a few questions.

My main question is about the water changes, a 10% change on my 30 is simple enough with a few buckets but I don't want to be mixing 30 gallons of water at the office in buckets. Does anyone have a setup where a water change is a matter of turning a couple of valves? We are changing everything so things like plumbing in a drain and water for an RO unit are easy options.

My second question is on the refugium volume. How big does it need to be for a 280?

Once we get to the install stage I will be sure to post several pictures.

Thanks in advance.
Patrick

Rbacchiega
02-14-2009, 04:08 PM
The easiest way, for me anyways, is to "T" off your drain line. One leads to the sump, the other to the drain. That will take care of the taking out part. Then you could have a resevoir filled with mixed water and a pump. Once you've drained enough tank water, turn the valve so that all water is directed back to the sump. Turn on the pump that moves freshly mixed saltwater into the display and you should be good to go.

Mind you, I'm not sure how much room you have to work with.

In terms of fuge size. On a 280 if you have room for a 50-75 gallon fuge you'd be laughing...

PFisher
02-14-2009, 05:06 PM
That is quite a bit easier that anything I had in mind. Thank you.

Rbacchiega
02-14-2009, 05:30 PM
simplicity is the key my friend hahaha. The fancier you make it, the more chances there are for things to mess up.

Tom R
02-14-2009, 07:57 PM