PDA

View Full Version : T5 lighting for SPS?

randallino
02-12-2009, 05:51 AM
Is anybody using exclusively T5 lighting for SPS. Thoughts, opinions?
RC

Rbacchiega
02-12-2009, 06:26 AM
Are you looking at using it over your 90? I posted the same question way back on RC and Grim (who seems to be the T5 guru) suggested at least 6 bulbs, but reccomended 8

bignose
02-12-2009, 07:55 AM
I'm using a 6x54W and had the same question before I bought mine. From what I read on the interenet you can grow sps but near the top of your tank. The person I bought the light from had sps under the light and he said it was ok. I'm relatively new with sps so I'm guessing some of the lower light sps. I don't know which ones though.

Perhaps someone could throw toss some answers here? perhaps? please? hehe.

i have crabs
02-12-2009, 12:25 PM
im using a 8 bulb tek light and i grow sps with no problems in a 28" deep tank, with my par meter i estimate it to be about the same a 250w halides in strength
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v508/djdirtyc/par.jpg

i have crabs
02-12-2009, 12:26 PM
the numbers in the pic are par readings when i changed bulbs in dec.

digital-audiophile
02-12-2009, 12:34 PM
T5's are great. A perfect option to MH.

If anyone tells you that you cannot grow SPS under T5's I would suggest they have never tried it themself.

rzadun
02-12-2009, 01:11 PM
I am using a current USA fixture that has twelve HO tubes 3feet each over my 240 gallon tank. It is 30 inches deep and I do not think the light at the bottom is sufficient for SPS. At the top is very brite.

Trigger Man
02-12-2009, 04:10 PM