PDA

View Full Version : SPS Tissue loss?

RCFA
02-12-2009, 05:33 AM
I am wondering if anyone can help me out. One of my corals(I think it is a type of porites) has slowly (2 weeks) been losing tissue. The polyps have been pulled in most of the time but not always and it looks like the dead spot is growing. I don't think this is RTN because it is happening so slowly. I though it might be a flow issue so I tried putting it in a different spot to see if that helped, but I am wondering if it is too late. All the other coral look great, continue to grow and have decent polyp extension. Hopefully these pictures work, this is my first time uploading photos. nothing really that could have stung it either

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss205/ajgoehner/DSCF0006.jpg

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss205/ajgoehner/DSCF0009.jpg

http://i576.photobucket.com/albums/ss205/ajgoehner/DSCF0004.jpg

As far as tank parameters that I know:
Ammonia, nitrites: 0
Nitrates: <5
Ca: 390
salinity: 1.024
temp:78
pH:8.3
alk: 10

Any ideas how to save this piece? should I try fragging the unaffected parts? or will it recover if the conditions are better?

foreverfortune
02-12-2009, 10:28 AM
if you say it is slowly losing tissue it is stn'ing (slow tissue necrosis) should frag off the good part so you have a frag in case it should lose all the tissue

Stones
02-12-2009, 06:27 PM
As said earlier, your best bet would to be to frag it about 1/4" into the healthy tissue and hope the frag pulls through. Myself, I've never had good luck with porites in the past as all of them seem to suffer from STN no matter where they were placed in the tank in regards to flow and lighting. Hopefully it will pull through for you as they can develop some real nice growth patterns given enough time.

RCFA
02-12-2009, 11:36 PM