PDA

View Full Version : Bit the bullet - levamisole flatworm treatment

Alberta-newb
02-04-2009, 05:05 AM
I've had flatworms since day one with my first purchase of live rock..being a newb I thought "great, life already!" Despite following advice like increasing flow (one vortech and a PH later), decreasing feeding (hungry fish), and reducing nutrients (weekly 15% WCs), to my disgust they didn't go away but rather continued to multiply. Well after finally getting sick and tired of flatworms in my tank and decided to do something about it. I've read mixed reviews on the effectiveness of Flatworm Exit and the expense put me off a little so tonight I crossed my fingers and tried a new treatment: levamisole HCl.

I found the post on RC: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1379099&perpage=25&pagenumber=1

How I did it:

I mixed 1/2 tsp. of levamisole HCl in 250 ml of RO water (easier number than 240 ml described in thread)

I shut off my return pump as I did not want to be treating my sump/fuge at this time.

Cranked my Vortech to full flow to keep everything moving

Dosage was reduced to 0.5 ml per gal from the 1 to 1.5ml/gal recomended...yes I'm chicken!:mrgreen: so 60 ml of solution used in my 120.

Immediate results:

PANIC!

Within 5 minutes, there was a virtual snowstorm of flatworms floating around the tank, low flow areas in the corners developed a deep yellow film on the sand. I quickly grabbed my turkey baster and started sucking up this toxic soup off the bottom. I also used it to blast the flatworms that were now crawling all over the rock dieing.

After 10 minutes, I felt quite confident that the majority of the flatworms were either dead or soon would be. At that point, I restarted my return pump, dropped in 1 lb worth of fresh carbon and started the first of three 10% water changes.

Effect on livestock: