PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question!

DJ_drew
01-28-2009, 09:41 PM
so im relatively new at reefing but ive done alot of research and ive mastered the first few months of keeping a tank

i have no corals, i have about 100 lbs of LR and the water is absolutely perfect.
am:0
nit:0
nitrate:0
PH:8.2

im just wondering, everytime i go into the LFS on their display tanks they have things that grow on the back of the tank and the returns... i believe they might be called pods?
lol
they look like barnacles
lol
anyways im just wondering why there arent any in my tank yet or if they will ever grow?

thanks guys and girls!
Drew

Trigger Man
01-28-2009, 09:48 PM
Your tank looks like it is going well, now remember if you are going to be putting corals in there you will have to atleast test for Calcium (around 400 or so tends to be a good amount, with many including myself having ours above 430) as well as KH (7-10 dkh is the average). With tank age and as you introduce more things to your tank you will get many different hitchhikers (some good some bad) and you tank will continue to form. I say just continue on the course you have begun and the tank will do it's thing.
On a second not I am pretty sure it is not pods growing on the back of the tanks and I would be more inclined to say some sort of algae or maybe a LPS (possibly a Xiena).

DJ_drew
01-28-2009, 09:55 PM
if you look at this pic on the return or input pump there is things growing on it
im just wondering if thats normal?

http://www.canreef.com/ftotm/may06/pan096.jpg

xtreme
01-28-2009, 09:59 PM
If you are referring to the purple spots on the wavebox and glass that is coraline algae. This is a sign of a healthy tank. The reason you may not have any yet is because of your Calcium, Alkalinity and Magnesium levels may be low.

Trigger Man