PDA

View Full Version : Stocking a new tank

Koresample
01-23-2009, 05:05 PM
I am new to SW, had FW for years and need some guidance for stocking my tank. I have a Fluval Osaka 155 litre (41 gallon) that has 60 llbs of aragonite (the stuff that comes pre-seeded with bacteria) as well as 49 lbs of live rock that i purchased from a tank that was established for over a year. The LR has tons of coralline algae and in the 3 weeks i have had it, new growth is coming along. Water has tested good from almost day one (SG 1023, PH 8.2, NO2-0, NO3-0, Amn 0). I added a single skunk clown 13 days ago, had a slight diatom outbreak for about 3 days, but it is pretty much gone now. I have about 10 blue legged hermit crabs and an assortment of about 15-20 snails.

I want to add some corals in the future (SPS and LPS) as well as an anemone for the clown and i want a community tank as much as possible. In researching, i am thinking about a Yello and Naso Tang, another skunk clown, a Bi-coloured Blennie or gobies.
Thoughts on these fish (i am thinking a max of 6 for the tank size) and coral recommendations? How many to stock at once, how long between stocking each one, when to stock the corals. Are there any threads on this that i have missed.

thanks,

mike

xtreme
01-23-2009, 05:16 PM
I wouldn't recommend the Naso thats for sure. They need a very large tank. Even the yellow tang may not have enough room. Also I would look at increasing circulation by a lot if you are looking at SPS. What type of lighting do you have?

Keri
01-23-2009, 05:29 PM
I wouldn't recommend the Naso thats for sure. They need a very large tank. Even the yellow tang may not have enough room. Also I would look at increasing circulation by a lot if you are looking at SPS. What type of lighting do you have?

+1 a naso tang especially may get longer than your tank is deep!

You could go with a dwarf angel, they have beautiful colours but some of them are coral eaters so you have to be careful.

Powertec