PDA

View Full Version : Cover reduce light?

serratus
01-21-2009, 04:15 PM
I was just thinking, does having a glass cover on top of the aquarium reduce the light that goes into it since the condensation on the cover would refract and reflect some of the light away from the tank?

Is this why people buy stands for their lights so that they don't need to have a glass cover to sit on?

BTW, I'm just starting out so I don't even know if tons of condensation even forms on the cover but I do recall see condensation on the glass cover of aquariums in stores.

Without the cover, will the tank get noticeably dirtier faster due to dust landing into it? (i.e. you gotta clean your filter more frequently)

Delphinus
01-21-2009, 04:29 PM
Yes to basically all your questions.

Sometimes cover glass is necessary, ie., if you have fish that are known to be prone to jumping or attempting escape from their glass prison. However even then there are no guarantees. Some people prefer glass covers to keep evaporation in check.

But not only does a clean piece of glass reduce some light, anything that gets on it will too, not the least of which is salt creep. If you want to use glass you'll need to clean it on a regular basis.

I prefer open-top myself, but it's better to find your own comfort level.

FWIW, I wouldn't trust the glass to hold up a light, I think it's better that a light has some structural support other than the glass over the tank - if that glass gets bumped or something, you don't want that light to fall into the tank - it's better if it's suspended above the tank, or secured to a canopy or hood.

fkshiu
01-21-2009, 04:32 PM
Glass covers can also prevent proper gas exchange causing excess co2 in the water thereby driving your pH down.

Trigger Man
01-21-2009, 04:58 PM