PDA

View Full Version : Help on some hardware decisions

serratus
01-20-2009, 09:16 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to these threads so please point out if I'm breaking any forum rules.

I've been doing research on tons of websites as to where to buy the cheapest supplies for a reef tank (canopy/lights, filter, powerheads, salt and sand, and live rock etc...). I realized that instead of wasting many hours on finding the cheapest place for every item, then calculating shipping, etc,... I could just ask you guys for help.

Is there a one stop store (physical store or online store) where you can get pretty much anything for very close to the best price? (For my hobby of photography, there is such a thing, so I'm hoping there's something like this for aquatics too).

Specifically, right now, i'm looking to buy these items right now:

36" 4x39W T5 HO light setup:
Current Nova seems to be the established brand here am I right? I also found on Ebay a brand called Odyssea that is way way cheaper. Are they any good?

Canister Filter:
Debating between Filstar XP2 or Fluval 305. Fluval is more expensive it seems but the 305 line seems to be newer than the XP line. Is there any newer technology that makes them better than the XP? I also just heard of a new comer JEBO 828/838. They are super cheap but I can find any retailers that will ship to Edmonton for cheap. Have you heard of a good place to get JEBO's?

This is for a 50gal tank and not looking to grow any SPS or LPS.

brizzo
01-20-2009, 10:18 PM
Hi serratus,

First of all, Welcome to CanReef!

In time with reef keeping you will learn that cheapest isn't always the best. You really, really do get what you pay for with reef equipment.

There is marine aquarium stores in your area, but I'll let someone else chime in on that :)

But, sometimes the best price you can get on good equipment is to buy used!

Check out my2rotties' post for a 6x39W T5 light :)

http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=48559

PoonTang