PDA

View Full Version : Error on Elos KH test kits

Jim Barry
01-07-2009, 08:52 PM
I have been using Elos KH test kits for several years and just purchased a new one. When I tested my water, I was showing a reading of 15 dkh. Needless to say, I freaked !!!

I checked the test kit at the LFS and they also had very high readings. For anyone using these alk kits, be aware the way you read these has now changed. Instead of 1 drop = 1dkh, it is now 1 drop =.5 dkh

Here is a link from reef central.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=1420318

Jim

xtreme
01-07-2009, 09:14 PM
The instructions should indicate this shouldn't they? The Elos Ca and Mg test kits have also changed recently I think. Better resolution with them now.

Jim Barry
01-07-2009, 09:28 PM
The paper instructions read 1 drop = 1 dkh. There is a seperate card that has been inserted with pictures. On this card it reads 1 drop =0,5 dkh. It is very confusing

xtreme
01-07-2009, 09:41 PM
Thats how my Mg was. The card shows 1 drop = 100ppm then it is crossed out and hand written in 1 drop = 75ppm? Could throw a person off if they're not careful, thats for sure.

reeferious
01-07-2009, 11:22 PM
pretty sure this was dreamt up by elios marketing team trying to double up their profit margin. tiny bit of improved measuring accuracy but costing user twice the moola.

reefy
01-07-2009, 11:23 PM
I have been using Elos KH test kits for several years and just purchased a new one. When I tested my water, I was showing a reading of 15 dkh. Needless to say, I freaked !!!

I checked the test kit at the LFS and they also had very high readings. For anyone using these alk kits, be aware the way you read these has now changed. Instead of 1 drop = 1dkh, it is now 1 drop =.5 dkh

Here is a link from reef central.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=1420318

Jim

thanks Jim, I was going to my lfs to buy dKH buffer cuz I thought I have 18 dKH.... thanks again

albert_dao