PDA

View Full Version : Grocery store foods?

banditpowdercoat
12-30-2008, 06:18 PM
OK, I have never used Garlic extract before. I have some coming from OA here soon. But, I was wondering is there a grocery store substitute that one can use? Like the Nori sheets that we get from Save-On?

Would acctually be neat if there was a list of grocery store foods/suppliments that were safe for our tanks.

Myka
12-30-2008, 06:26 PM
Just buy real garlic. Use a garlic press, and catch the juice. Same thing. I used to do it all the time, but found it easier to just use the Garlic Extreme drops. :)

Powertec
12-30-2008, 06:48 PM
And i use the nori from safeway etc all the time...It flakes apart easier in the tank than the lfs stuff so as long as your fish are rip it apart in seconds like mine are than it will be fine:)

Kabong
12-30-2008, 07:23 PM
I get the big tub of minced garlic from costco.
Its packed in water so you get chunks and liquid to soak regular food in.

GreenSpottedPuffer
12-30-2008, 07:37 PM
Apparently fresh garlic is the best because of something it releases right away once cutting into it. Don't know the name.

I just peel the garlic and crush it up a bit with the side of a knife and then chop it in half and soak my food in it. Very easy. Usually use the same garlic chunks for a day or two and then get new ones.

I have never looked for Nori from the grocery but I think I will take a look now.

banditpowdercoat
12-30-2008, 07:45 PM
Ohh, you acctually feed the fish the garlic chunks too? When your using real garlic, how do you soak your food in it? for a couple minutes? hrs? Im new to all this Fancy fish foods LOL. Up till now, been Formula 1 and 2 pellets and PE mysis. So much to learn.....

naesco
12-30-2008, 07:46 PM
The key is not to buy watered down product like garlic juice. You can buy garlic extract from health food stores. The idea is to put as much garlic into the fish as possible.