PDA

View Full Version : Hagen Glo or Nova Extreme T5's, which is better

Trigger Man
12-07-2008, 01:33 AM
So as the title says I'm trying to figure which brand to go with for some supplemental t5 lighting for the back of my tank. I'm looking for a 2 bulb 36" unit, and from what I've found out these two are the contenders. Has anyone used either or heard anything about either one?

StirCrazy
12-07-2008, 01:43 AM
I have the hagen glo on my fresh water tank and I am very impressed with it. it is a 22" deep tank and it is very bright to the bottom than I am able to grow high light plants in there terf form. I haven't seen the nove ones though.

Steve

mike31154
12-07-2008, 02:20 AM
No experience with the Nova Extreme, but I've been using a 36" Hagen Glo fixture for over two years now and it's been trouble free. Initially as main lighting but now with two actinics for dawn dusk lighting effect.

Mounting is quite flexible, a good quality hanging kit is provided and there are extendable arms on each end to mount directly on to tank. I kept the fixture close to the water surface initially and found the reflector easy to clean. The salt splashes wipe off with plain water whereas my retrofit single reflectors are much more difficult to clean up. Waterproof/resistant endcaps are well made.

Lance
12-07-2008, 03:18 AM
I have a Hagen Glo fixture that came with my 90 gal corner tank. I also have a Nova Extreme over my QT tank. IMO there is no comparison, the Glo fixture is a much nicer unit. Waterproof end caps and nice reflectors. The built-in timers are easy to use and work great. I have had this fixture for over a year now and it still looks brand new.

karazy
12-07-2008, 03:21 AM
my hagen GLO doesn't have built in timers..

but anyways, i have a 24 GLO inch over my 29 gallon, and so far it seems pretty bright

awa1979
12-07-2008, 07:05 AM
I have the 36" 2 bulb on my 40 breeder and like them, nice light and color.