PDA

View Full Version : Options for remote communities?

BlueAbyss
10-17-2008, 03:13 AM
Hey everyone, I'm new to the saltwater hobby though not to aquariums in general (I've kept freshwater fish and plants in the past, broke down those tanks a couple years ago).

I'd like to start a 20 gallon reef tank, and I'm sort of lost on where to start... actually, let me rephrase that, I know where to start but as I'm in a remote community (8 hours from Winnipeg, 6 from Saskatoon) there is nothing in terms of LFS. Walmart doesn't count :biggrin:.

So my question here is, what are my options for things to put in my tank, being that there is no LFS? Is buying online and having it shipped to the local Purolator depot my only option?

Some insight would be greatly appreciated.

ElGuappo
10-17-2008, 03:18 AM
if the LFS in either of those towns uses straight o2 when they bag your stuff it should do fine for the drive home. i have heard of one of the lfs i use had a customer form europe and the fish he took back on the plane as carry on did fine. he even called to say the fish made it.

But aside from pick up in either of these towns i would say that yes shipping would be it..

BlueAbyss
10-17-2008, 04:02 AM
Yeah, I think shipping is my only option... guess I wait until spring, shipping in the winter is probably waaaay too risky. In the meantime, I'll have to search for a source of liverock that might have some extra critters on it. My parents brought me back some dead coral from their trip to Jamaica years ago, and I put the chunks of rock into some salt water (I was young, it seemed like the thing to do :lol: and sooner than later there were a bunch of little creatures swimming around in the glass. I hope to have a similar (if less awed, I'm all growed up now) experience with reefkeeping.

JDigital
10-17-2008, 04:05 AM
You will probably be just as awed... :wink:

AndyL
10-17-2008, 04:21 AM