PDA

View Full Version : Any advice would be greatly appreciated !

ice
10-14-2008, 03:17 AM
I am new to the reef aquarium and would gladly accept any help or recommendations. I want to get a 135g bowfront to house live rock and some fish. I work out of town sometimes and would like to know what I would need to make it somewhat maintenance free (my wife would just know how to feed and do water checks while I am away). I have been looking at the solaris I-5 for my lighting. Money isn`t too much of a hinderance, I would rather spend the money now than down the road with problems. I wanted everything hidden underneath in the sump. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Der_Iron_Chef
10-14-2008, 03:48 AM
Welcome to Canreef :) You should do some reading before you start, as that's the best way (regardless of the quality of your different components) to avoid mishaps and/or failure!

Check out this section of our forum:

http://canreef.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=51

Or this section of reefcentral.com:

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1031074

Good luck and keep asking questions.

ice
10-14-2008, 04:03 AM
Thanks for the reply ! I am reading the saltwater aquariums for dummies right now and will read those links you suggested. I can`t wait to get started but I just want to make sure I have the right equipment and don`t screw anything up.

mark
10-14-2008, 04:03 AM
Few books good place to start and visit other reefers tanks is always helpful.

If doing a FOWLR, really don't need to be worrying supplementing. A ATO would go a long way in going maintenance free for your wife and all then that is needed, is to add food and empty the skimmer cup.

As for the Solaris, just because you pay the big bucks doesn't always make things problem free. Lots of threads about poor quality with their other series and since they just rearranged things, might want to give them some time to get the it right.