PDA

View Full Version : new to nano questions

tgoeujon
10-06-2008, 01:03 AM
i just decided to start up a 10 gallon tank which will be mostly sps. its been running for about a week with no spikes of any kind ( amonia, nitrite, nitrate).
I should mention that im using all pre-existing equiptment. Live sand and rock from my 55 gallon reef, i even transfered water from that tank to this one. seemed like a good idea but i dont really know. im wondering, if i have no fluctuations on my parameters how long should i wait to add some frags. some of them will be coming from my 55 and im not sure how to introduce them to more lighting. the 55 has pc as well as a t5 strip light but the 10 has a 150 MH pendant. also im running a k-2 and powersweep 212, will that be enough flow? i know lots of dumb questions, looking forward to some insight.

Thanks
Trevor

lorenz0
10-06-2008, 01:23 AM
Well i am a bit new to this but from my experience with SPS in my 10gal yes you should have enough flow. right now i am running 2 nano K's and a AC50 with good results. only thing that bothers me is your lighting. you may want to consider a chiller depending on how hot the tank gets.

wait a month just to be safe

ElGuappo
10-06-2008, 01:42 AM
i just bought a powersweep for the nano contest and its a 214. it may too much flow. i think the 212 would be about perfect. i tested the 214 in the 10g i will be tearing down to set the contest tank up. i have a torch in there and it was far too much flow. i currently run a koriala nano on this tank and its pretty money. big torch so i cant have too much flow.

04scoobysti
10-06-2008, 02:56 AM
If you transferred everything over from your 55 (rock, water, sand) and that tank was already established, then you can add whatever you would like as soon as you like. You just might want to play with the orientation of your flow and make sure you temp is stable.

tgoeujon
10-12-2008, 08:57 PM