PDA

View Full Version : Livestock/rock Sale Question

Der_Iron_Chef
09-11-2008, 05:06 PM
So, I'm going to be putting most of my livestock (fish, corals, inverts, rock) up for sale, but I'm wondering what people do if corals are firmly attached to big pieces of live rock? For example, I have a beautiful green Toadstool (sarcophyton sp.) that's firmly rooted to a giant piece of rock. What if someone wants the coral, but doesn't want to pay $50 for the rock as well? Do I rip it off? *cringes*

Thanks in advance...I've had lots of experience buying corals, but not very much selling....en masse, at least.

scuglass
09-11-2008, 05:17 PM
Possibly try and chissle off a small piece of the rock?

I know I wouldnt have room for anything with large rocks attatched without rearanging everything....

Cant wait to see what you have to let go :P Ill be trolling all day to get first dibs :mrgreen:

christyf5
09-11-2008, 05:26 PM
Yeah, I'd either chisel it or hold out for a better buyer. Personally I'd rather have something like that mounted anyway. Leathers can be such a PITA to mount sometimes.

ponokareefer
09-11-2008, 05:35 PM
Depending on the coral and the rock, I may be interested. Do you have any pictures of it? I'd agree that chiselling the rock around the toadstool would be better than ripping it off.

Myka
09-11-2008, 06:46 PM
If you do end up "ripping it off", use a sharp exacto blade or non-serated knife. They are easy to remove, and aren't usually too fussy about it either, but can be a real pain in the butt to remount. They like to heal over instead of attaching...

Whatigot
09-11-2008, 06:57 PM
I've had a really easy time mounting leathers (toadstools especially) by slicing the bottom or stalk in a cross and then placing the sliced open part over wherever I want it to attach to...

I suppose thats what you mean by they prefer to heal over rather than attach?

Myka
09-11-2008, 06:59 PM