PDA

View Full Version : Old bulbs = Algae problems?

Son Of Skyline
04-08-2003, 03:10 PM
My 250w Iwasakis are getting pretty old. Both are over a year old, and I think one is closer to 2+ years old. Would this have anything to do with my algae problems or no? Thanks in advance.

Delphinus
04-08-2003, 03:58 PM
Perhaps not a completely certainty, but it's a reasonably safe bet. I have no experience with Iwasaki's that old, so take that into account when I speak -- I've also used 10000K bulbs for over 2 years without algae problems but I would expect that to be an exception rather than the rule. Other bulbs I have used in the past (used several different ones over 5+ years in the hobby!), I could tell you exactly when they had hit "six months plus a day" because the difference was that apparent. Changing out the old bulbs caused the blooms to wither within days. So yes, I'd call it a "solid possibility." (How's that for a non-wishy-washy reply?)

christyf5
04-08-2003, 04:53 PM
What kind of algae problems are you having? How big is your tank? Skimmer? How much LR? Alkalinity?

The reason I ask all these questions is when I was having algae problems it was suggested to change my bulbs. After spending the $200 on bulbs I saw decline in the algae growth and had to turn to other ideas.

Christy :)

Delphinus
04-08-2003, 05:11 PM
Christy, I assume you mean you saw NO decline in algae growth?

PS. I didn't mean to suggest that old lighting was the only cause, just ONE potential cause. Definitely for "due diligence" all those other possibilities should be explored as well. However, that said, two years on a halide IS pushing it. Although I am as guilty as anyone for doing that, there's no doubt that after two years of solid use (espescially assuming something like a 10-12 hour daily photoperiod), it's not gonna hurt ANYthing (except maybe the wallet) to replace those bulbs. :cool:

christyf5
04-08-2003, 06:05 PM