PDA

View Full Version : Seahorse ?

CHEAPREEF
04-04-2003, 02:44 PM
I'm debating putting seahorses in my new setup. They would go in a seperate tank, under the main tank. The volume will be around 14 gal, what species would be good for that size tank? And what type of fish would be ok to have as tank mates. I was thinking Percs but i'm not sure if they are too aggresive or not. Thanks for any help.

Clinton

BCOrchidGuy
04-05-2003, 03:10 AM
I'm no expert on Seahorses but I have been doing alot of reading on them, as for tank mates, there isn't much that will go with them. Everything will get along with them, it's what they will get along with.

Seahorses are slow feeders and slow movers, Percs are too active and there wouldn't be much food left over for them. In my opinion Seahorses should only be kept in either a species tank or with something like pipefish, which feed the same way as Seahorses. My understanding of the pipefish though is that they are very hard to keep.

As for which species, thats a hard call, I've read that dwarf seahorses will do really well in a 2.5 - 5 gallon tank, a 5 gallon tank should hold 3 pair easy. A 2.5 will hold 2 pair and some offspring. The larger ones need more vertical room, a taller tank is better than a long tank for them. The Hex aquariums would be really good for them in my opinion.

See my post about Seahorses local, Emily gave me a link to a breeder in Calgary, she may be able to steer you in the right direction.

naesco
04-05-2003, 04:59 PM
Under no circumstances should you consider buying a wild caught seahorse.
All it does is encourage the irresponsible LFS and online stores who bring them in to bring more of them in.

CHEAPREEF
04-05-2003, 05:30 PM
Under no circumstances should you consider buying a wild caught seahorse.
All it does is encourage the irresponsible LFS and online stores who bring them in to bring more of them in.