PDA

View Full Version : Things to add to a 20G and algae/sludge questions

naturenutty
08-02-2008, 09:54 PM
Hi all! I'm relatively new here. I signed up a long time back but I don't think I ever posted. I'm really a newbie to SW. I got an established tank last fall (wow... almost a year ago) from a friend. It has been established with pretty much the critters in it for at least 5 years. I have kept FW fish for a number of years, off and on.

I've had a bit of an off and on problem with green algae forming a slime coating on the sand/rocks and glass. I was doing water changes every 10-14 days, and my guess is when it goes 14 it's just a bit too much. I'm now going to make sure H2O is changed every 7-10 days, and I also have recently decreased the temp and photoperiod and I'm hoping that will help solve this. Any other suggestions and ideas are welcome. I won't be going to RO, though, so even though I know that will be something everyone suggests, it isn't happening. hehehe

There also seems to be a continuous greyish white sludgy/silty substance that covers EVERYTHING when I clean the tank. Am I just disturbing the bottom too much? Not enough?

My other problem, if I can call it that, is that I need to add something to it and I'm not sure what. It just needs a bit more... something. hehehe Anyhow, here's the specs on it, and any and all input will be much appreciated.

-20g tall
-live sand bottom
-live rock (really not sure how much, I never understood how it's weighed, but there's a fair bit)
-Aquaclear mini with filter floss
-Rio Nano skimmer that sometimes skims (if ANYONE has a solution for this, please let me know... I've found this to be the most finicky thing I've ever dealt with)
-Coralife fixture with actinic and 10K tubes. (10K tube is due for a change. I've heard actinic can run a long time without change, is this true?) now on for 10 hours/day (down from 12)
-Temp around 24C (down from 25-26)