PDA

View Full Version : Rubber pipe connectors?

drydock
07-30-2008, 03:33 PM
Hi,

I'm gonna preface this as asking if this is a good idea or not and then open it up to suggestions if someone has a better idea.

I bought a used 240 gallon with PVC 2" Drain and a 1.25" Return lines. To remove the tank from the original stand, there was some precision surgery with the reciprocating saw...

Now I am working on how to reconnect everything and I found a couple of rubber pipe connectors with the stainless steel band clamps around them that you tighten to fasten it in place. Sort of like this...

http://www.missionrubber.com/images/BandSeal.jpg

I'm a newbie, so let me know if this is a good idea or a bad one...

My other option is to entirely redo the return plumbing, which I would prefer to avoid. I could also find a glue in connector, but my logic was that if I had to cut this once, I may have to do it again. I'm not really that worried about the join leaking as it will be directly over my sump, but I have noticed that I don't see a lot of rubber gaskets in SW equipment (just an observation) and I was wondering if there was a specific reason for that.

Thanks,

sharuq1
07-30-2008, 06:07 PM
Rubber tends to fall apart in salt water would be the reason for not seeing much for rubber gaskets.

brandy
07-30-2008, 06:24 PM
Rubber will, yes, getting hardening with SW then release the polutions into the SW. Bad idea, to me.
I have not much experience in this, but I am sure that's how it will turn out.

spreerider
07-30-2008, 06:54 PM
i have used those clamps on fish farms and they do not last, i would go with the ones made for coupling PVC that are a bit more expensive, but very reliable, or you could use a straight coupler and glue them in properly.

Parker
07-30-2008, 07:08 PM
I might be a bit confused, but wouldn't it be easier to replace the bulkheads and replumb the tank with new PVC?

Delphinus
07-30-2008, 08:31 PM