PDA

View Full Version : Herbie style overflow

Chad
07-29-2008, 04:41 PM
So, my tank is plumbed and ready, I started it up and did a emergency shutoff to see if the sump handled the flow back etc. When I restarted the system, I found out that my Herbie overflow does not start back up. Instead the emergency line has to take over.

How do I get the regulated line to take over as normal during a restart of power? Or do I have to re-set it every time?

thanks!

mark
07-29-2008, 05:52 PM
a Herbie is nothing more than two standpipes, one higher than the other and the lower one having a valve. Can't see why it won't start as there's no siphons etc.

Chad
07-29-2008, 05:57 PM
I have a 90 degree elbow pointing down on the one which is valved.. maybe it is just trapping the air? but then, when I removed the elbow.. some air came out but it wasn't until I opened the gate valve that it started to flow again properly.

I am just not sure if it is normal for the valved line to stay un-operational until you reset it.

mark
07-29-2008, 06:06 PM
not running a Herbie full time (just on my 33g QT) but never had a problem with the primary drain restarting, but then it was just a straight vertical pipe coming up from the bottom of the tank.

Could see having a down turned elbow causing a air lock.

Black Phantom
07-29-2008, 08:08 PM
Sounds like trapped air to me. How close to the top of your overflow is the valve. It might be that there isn't enough water building up in the pipe after startup to push the air out.

Whatigot
07-29-2008, 08:43 PM
would airline fed into the pipe solve this issue?

Nevin
07-29-2008, 10:08 PM
Can you just remove the downturned elbow? If it's there to make your normal drain lower than the emergency drain then it won't work. How about an elbow turned upward on your emergency drain to make it higher instead?

Regards,
Nevin

sphelps
07-29-2008, 10:29 PM
Pictures are amazing things, got any??

JDigital
07-30-2008, 12:41 AM