PDA

View Full Version : Need Help ID Please help me ID these. Thanks

brandy
07-22-2008, 02:42 AM
Hi:
I am new at this. I recently setting up a new 200G system with mostly DIY. It's been about about 3 months now with only LR and LS in there. When bought LR, there were some coral (if they really are?!?) on them.
Anyone can help me ID these "guys" here in the pictures. Thank you in advance.

In the img_025, the green "flower things were actually purple tubes and grow those green when light on. What are those, also, the white skiny long hair in the pic, what are they, are they bad?
In the img_029, the thing look like the tree, my bro told me it's Tanja tree, I am not sure, but just wonder are they ok or a bad "coral" so I can get rid of them if bad. One thing about them, they are grow quite quick even my tank is NEW and not "cycle" yet (that's the reason I didnot put any live stock in yet). Also, if you can notice, there's a "musroom" between the "tree" I wonder what it is and is it bad?

Thanks...

Der_Iron_Chef
07-22-2008, 02:50 AM
Firstly, welcome to Canreef :)

The coral in the first picture looks like Green Star Polyps (Briareum sp). They grow very quickly and for this reason, some people don't like them. I'm not sure what the stringy things are--could be various things (digitate hydroid [sort of not too bad] or Vermetid Snails [generally considered reef safe, but can multiply and become pesty).

The coral in the second picture looks like Kenya Tree (Capnella sp.) and is reef safe. Again, though, it can grow very quickly and drop little "buds" around the tank, so you'll suddenly find them sprouting up everywhere! That's fine if you like them.

I can't make out what the "mushroom" type coral is.

brandy
07-22-2008, 03:05 AM
Wow!
That's was fast and very helpful. Thanks...
Yeah, I kindda like the tree, but the green stuff, I might "feed them some hot water (I was told) to control it "violation"..
Again, thanks...