PDA

View Full Version : Euroreefs adjustability

sharuq1
07-17-2008, 07:34 AM
I'm new to the euroreef crowd and not totally sure what I'm doing. My coralife skimmer (don't laugh) was easy to adjust for wet or dry skim via a little knob. However, the euroreef doesn't have anything like that and I see no way to adjust the cup (all looks glued to me). My bubbles aren't even making it to the cup and I see no way to adjust it. It has pulled out some very dark extremely nasty skimmate (about 1cm in the cup) in the last couple of days, so it is working. I just cleaned the cup as there was quite alot of build up and I wondered if it was impeding performance.

Can the skimmer be adjusted at all and if so how? Or is this normal operation and I should quit my day-job of reef-worry-wart?

Drock169
07-17-2008, 07:36 AM
depends on if its an older model or newer one, older ones have an adustable riser pipe in which you simply adjust to the height you need, newer ones have a twisting pipe marked with closed on it, the closer you turn it to closed the higher the level of water in your skimmer

sharuq1
07-17-2008, 07:38 AM
Ahh I did not realize that. Guess I need to buy some extra pipe and mod it because the riser tube at the appropriate level would flood water everywhere (taller than my sump).

a4twenty
07-17-2008, 10:46 AM
could you maybe post a pic of your skimmer? as explained there are a couple different designs and each has a different method of adjustment. also you said that it does pull but other times the bubbles are not reaching the cup, you know if you stick your hand in the tank the oils on our skin will temporarily stop the skimmer from pulling? also you do have to keep the neck clean or it will definitely impede the skimmer.

i have the old style and installed the gate valve mod, it's so easy to adjust.

midgetwaiter
07-17-2008, 12:52 PM