PDA

View Full Version : Skimmers and Filters

bignose
06-22-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi,

This might sound like a dumb questions. But It's ok cause I'm a newbie!!
I'm in the midst of starting a new tank and need to know:
Do I need to have both skimmer and filter on a reef tank?

I'm going to buy some of the equipment today. I need to know if I need to buy a filter.

Thanks.

michika
06-22-2008, 03:12 PM
A skimmer is your filter of sorts. You'll probably just need a skimmer. Have you researched your options for skimmers?

bignose
06-22-2008, 03:18 PM
Yes I'm giong to buy either a seaclone 100 skimmer or a Red sea prism.
This is going on a 55G tank.

michika
06-22-2008, 03:25 PM
Can I ask you a few questions about your setup? Since obviously this set up is for something different then the 10g nano in your signature line. You can do better then either of those skimmers, particularly on a 55g.

What are you planning on keeping in this 55g tank? Do you know what the total water volume would be? How heavily stocked will you be keeping your tank. Do you require an in-sump model, or anything specific to run it?

bignose
06-22-2008, 03:35 PM
I cant afford to go all out with this so there will be no sump.
I am however buying a 150w mh with 2-65w cf.
It will be a reef tank and I plan on stocking with all sorts of coral.
As for the fish Im not sure what there will be. Probably the max allowed for the volume of water. Since its a 55G my guess is probably 50G(not really sure).

I could buy both of the skimmers I guess. they are really cheap and I could upgrade.

Does this help, what would you reccommend.

michika
06-22-2008, 03:47 PM
So you need a hang on model.

Try putting up a WTB (want to buy) post in the buy/sell forum and see what people have out there. I hear the Tunze hang on is quite good, but I don't know the price point on it. I don't know if I would go with both skimmers, but if its all you can do for now then go for it.

Do you have any photos of your set-up?

bignose