PDA

View Full Version : 2 questions about triggerfish..

bv_reefer
06-02-2008, 03:08 AM
1) why are they not considered ''reef safe''?
2) will they bother sps corals or clams?

thanks, bv

Keri
06-02-2008, 03:16 AM
1) because most will eat things like corals, inverts, smaller/slower fish, your hand...airline tubing...etc
2)see above

But there ARE some reefsafe triggers, like the blue throat I think. try googling "reefsafe trigger" :)

bv_reefer
06-02-2008, 03:20 PM
thanks, i knew theres gotta be 1 thats more or less reef-safe:mrgreen:

Interior_Reef
06-02-2008, 03:27 PM
You could put a sargasum Trigger in a reef tank. They are a reef safe trigger. Expensive though...

Der_Iron_Chef
06-02-2008, 03:27 PM
I have no personal experience, but I've read that Bluechin Triggerfish (Xanthichthys auromarginatus) are generally considered to be reef safe-ish.

Aquattro
06-02-2008, 03:43 PM
reef safe is a relative term. If you have a small fish that the trigger can eat, one day it likely will. Most will eat the non sessile inverts (shrimps, etc), although some will be ok. You pays your money, you takes your chances when it comes to triggers.

dsaundry
06-02-2008, 05:41 PM
I have a Picasso{Huma,Huma} and so far he hasn't touched any of the frogspawn or torch corals, I also have somp GSP and some Zoo's and Platy's and so far he doesnt show any interest. He does like all the snails he can turn ove and pick at, he leaves the other fish alone as well. In this tank I have a pair of Gold Stripe Maroon clowns, a Blue spotted puffer, a Scribbled Rabbitfish, and a Purple tang. I will stress that this is still more of an aggressive tank and if I was to put any shrimp or small fish in there I think he would take them out. As for reef safe..like people say, you might get one that doesnt touch your corals or fish or you might get one that cleans them out...

Aquattro
06-02-2008, 05:46 PM