PDA

View Full Version : New to reefing.

BigA
04-24-2008, 03:16 PM
Hi everyone!! BigA from Edmonton here. I am new to reefing and this board and I have some questions. I have recently started what will be a reef tank eventually. 29gal tank, 30x12x18. Eheim 2224 canister filter, Coralife Aqualight PC's- 130W. Hydor Koralia 1 powerhead - 400 g/h. Salinity level of 1.023.

On this past Saturday I purchased 11lbs (Couldn't afford to do more than that at the time. Will be purchasing about 20-25lbs more) of Tonga LR from the LFS. Brought it home and through it in the tank. Over the first couple of days, I watched as it turned a bright white. Haven't seen much for hitchhikers, other than a few bristleworms (I think). Now the rock is turning kinda of a rusty brown color. Not fuzzy or anything. Just turning a gross brown. Is this a problem issue? Or just part of the curing process? Any other recommendations for me as I progress?

Thanks in advance.

angelfan
04-24-2008, 03:37 PM
Welcome BigA,
Sounds like your just in the curing process. As the tank stabilizes the first stage will be brown stuff EVERYWHERE but don't worry as every tank goes through this. Also the quality of the live rock will help with the wait. I don't know where you got your live rock but I think I know. Try the place that I pm'd you as it is now my source for LR and it is usually the best in the city for cost and quality. It will take a while, but with a stable system and good water quality, your coralline algae (purple stuff) will cover the rock, and even the tank walls. With any system testing is important, but it is much more so in small set-ups as things happen a lot faster, and nothing good happens fast in any tank. Don't worry though as I started with a 20gal and still have it. I think people should learn with a nano (small tank) as you learn faster, with less losses and costs. Good Luck and Happy Reefing

Greg

BigA
04-24-2008, 04:27 PM