PDA

View Full Version : What Camera?

Tom R
04-16-2008, 11:33 PM
I am looking at buying a Camera to take better pictures of my corals.

What Camera do you have?

What Camera would you purchase if you were in the market for a Camera today?

I was looking at the Canon S5IS. Anyone using one of these?

Tom R

BC Mosaic
04-16-2008, 11:45 PM
I'm no pro and am stilling learning but after doing research I bought a Pentax K10D, 10 mega pixel just before Christmas and just before Pentax came up with a new updated model. For the body I paid roughly $600.00. Best "bang for the buck". I also got a Pentax 100mm Macro which was just as expensive as the body but well worth it. That is my main/only lens when shooting into the tank.
One other very, very important piece of photographic equipment is a good tripod - a real[U]must[U].

To do research on any camera that you may be considering, go here:
http://www.dpreview.com/

HTH

Cheers

Aquattro
04-16-2008, 11:49 PM
I liked the Nikon D80 and will probably buy one this weekend

BC Mosaic
04-16-2008, 11:53 PM
Aquattro,
That's a good camera but you're paying an extra $200 - $400 just for the name.

Aquattro
04-16-2008, 11:56 PM
Aquattro,

I didn't get that impression from the reviews, but a leading factor in deciding is that a few friends have the same camera and we can share lenses. :)

Veng68
04-17-2008, 12:03 AM
I am looking at buying a Camera to take better pictures of my corals.

What Camera do you have?

What Camera would you purchase if you were in the market for a Camera today?

I was looking at the Canon S5IS. Anyone using one of these?

Tom R

Hey Tom,

I have the Canon S5IS . I was at the camera meeting a couple weeks back.

If you want to play around with it.......... The next time your at Anthony's house let me know and I can meet up with you there.

Cheers,
Vic [veng68]

BC Mosaic
04-17-2008, 12:34 AM