PDA

View Full Version : new plumbing

Douglas
04-08-2008, 11:34 PM
I've roughted in some plumbing for my new tank. I'm new at a sump system, and looking for any advice. Changes i could make, anything? Doug

kari
04-08-2008, 11:40 PM
What diameter is the pipe you have going on?

Douglas
04-08-2008, 11:45 PM
1 inch in diameter, and my durso standpipe is 1/14 inch. The holes in the tank were 1 3/4 inch. Again, I'm new to building a tank with a sump, so any advice would be great. Thanks

Joe Reefer
04-09-2008, 12:39 AM
Looks good, although I would use the 2 holes in the overflow for a herbie style overflow. Then plumb the return over the back of the tank.

Trigs
04-09-2008, 12:40 AM
Looks good, although I would use the 2 holes in the overflow for a herbie style overflow. Then plumb the return over the back of the tank.

I agree you might get a lot of noise coming out of that, and the herbie is very convenient :)

Douglas
04-09-2008, 01:16 AM
Can any one show me a picture or "link", showing me a herbie style overflow? I don't think i've seen one, and would like to try to do this right, and quiet, the first time. Thanks

mark
04-09-2008, 01:17 AM
Dursos are quiet, but not silent like Herbies but depending on flow could be quite alright. Will comment on your layout re: valve on drain, don't use it to restrict to the drain as can get blocked and cause a flood (reason Herbies have 2 drains).

Assuming your planning powerheads of some sort in the tank?

Joe Reefer
04-09-2008, 01:24 AM
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=344892

mark
04-09-2008, 01:24 AM
Can any one show me a picture or "link", showing me a herbie style overflow? I don't think i've seen one, and would like to try to do this right, and quiet, the first time. Thanks

look here (http://216.187.96.54/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=28436&highlight=untamed&page=6) post 53 for picture

Douglas
04-11-2008, 05:32 PM