PDA

View Full Version : Need help

Inlimbo
04-07-2008, 03:30 AM
Hi we are still newbies and have had a 33 gal reef tank for the last 2 years, We just bought a 55 gall tank and want to know whats best way to go into with our 33.
We have about 50lb of new tufa rock that has been cleaned and sterilized in the tank now.We also have about 5 lbs of live rock in it now and some live water from our tank and one other.
What should we do now?? When should we even think about moving our other tank into it.
Thanks So much

Glennrf38
04-07-2008, 04:08 AM
Wait at least a couple of weeks for the cycle to go through. You might try daily water changes from your existing tank to the new tank. The more "old" water in it the faster it should cycle. At least thats what I would do. Anyone else?

ElGuappo
04-07-2008, 04:36 AM
I am new to this hobby as well and i am going to be moving a tank soon. if i were in your position i would set the new tank up and do a water change on the old tank using this water in the new tank. this tank sould run for a good couple of weeks before you consider LS (not including CUC) as it will need to cycle from what i hear. are you using substrate? reusing? new? only asking becaue the rinsing of substrate can take a long time and leave your tank cloudy.

marie
04-07-2008, 04:50 AM
Hi we are still newbies and have had a 33 gal reef tank for the last 2 years, We just bought a 55 gall tank and want to know whats best way to go into with our 33.
We have about 50lb of new tufa rock that has been cleaned and sterilized in the tank now.We also have about 5 lbs of live rock in it now and some live water from our tank and one other.
What should we do now?? When should we even think about moving our other tank into it.
Thanks So much

As long as you have a bunch of live rock in the old tank and providing all water parameters somewhat match, then there really is no reason you can't go ahead and transfer everything into the new tank

Palster
04-07-2008, 05:22 AM