PDA

View Full Version : Compatibility Question...

VFX
03-22-2008, 07:01 PM
How compatible are these?

Does anyone have any of these together?

- Clams
- Sexy Shrimp
- Peppermint Shrimp
- Blue Legged Hermits
- Flame Angel

I've kept one or two of them together but never all at once...

Brent F
03-22-2008, 07:07 PM
Flame angels sometimes nip at clams.

Shrimp can irritate clams if they pick at them

VFX
03-22-2008, 07:50 PM

My Flame Angel never picked at any of my corals but was kept in a softies & LPS tank so I have no experience of them with SPS & Clams.

My cleaner shrimp bugged the hell out of my clams & sps so I placed him in my softies tank with Peppermints in.

The Cleaner & the Peppermints got along fine but due to their tiny size, I'm wondering if Sexy Shrimp & Peppermints will get along OK.

I'm also wondering if Sexy Shrimp & Peppermints will annoy clams & sps?

As for blue legs... I had no hermits in my SPS & Clams tank so I'm not sure if they will bother them of not.

Anyone keep hermits & Clams together?

Brent F
03-22-2008, 08:01 PM
My hermits leave the clams alone. I have left legged, blue leg and halloween crabs with my clams

dsaundry
03-23-2008, 12:14 AM
Hi Viv: I have always been advised that you shouldn't have hermits with clams..Apparently there is the possibility they can tear the mantle membrane.
Don't know if other members have this issue...
ps; was in A/H today and they had some really nice little clams for $60.00
I almost picked one up. Blues..Gold..Green selection

Cya later..Darryl.:biggrin:

VFX
03-23-2008, 12:48 AM
Hey Darryl,

I've had a few people say not to keep hermits or shrimp with clams but the tanks I've seen with nice SPS & Clams all tend to have hermits and/or shrimps in them.

Makes me think they might just irritate the clams a little bit rather than bug them to the point of submission or death!

Where's A/H? hmmm... I'd be tempted if my tank wasn't so new!

So did you buy a car yet?

mildcustom2
03-23-2008, 01:05 AM