PDA

View Full Version : Aquatronica vs. Profilux vs. Aquacontroller III

Fishmeister
03-18-2008, 11:46 PM
Hello all:

I'm new to this bulletin board, but thought I'd post the question that is driving me nuts at the moment.

I've had tanks for years, with two main tanks, both about 300 gals., at the moment - one is a reef tank at home, and the other a "predator" tank in my office.

I've never used electronics before. Now I travel more and would prefer to have something that will at least monitor the tank, and preferably handle things like top offs, adjusting ph, calcium, etc. levels, at least when I'm away.

Money isn't the real issue - obviously I want good value, but I'm more concerned with the best solution because over the many years it will be in place, the small differences in price will be long forgotten.

I've ruled out the low end and the high end because the middle range seemed to offer most of the functionality I think I need.

As an aside, I'd prefer to have the same system on both tanks so I don't have to have two different sets of probes, programming methods, etc.

With my analysis, that lead to the Aquatronica, Profilux, and Aquacontroller III units. So, you are the experts. What do you think? Which one? Or should it be a fourth choice I didn't consider?

Best regards, Mike.

RonPeter
03-19-2008, 12:03 AM
I'll tag along on this one.

untamed
03-19-2008, 12:38 AM
You need to find someone who has had experience with all of them, and I doubt you'll find that person.

I have an Aquatronica. I certainly had some problems with my first unit. When it finally failed for good, it was replaced quickly under warranty. My replacement unit has worked perfectly. At the time I made the decision, the Profilux wasn't yet available.

Aquatronica has upgraded the unit firmware (bringing improvements and new capabilities) about 5 times in the 2 years I've owned it. That's a nice feature which is also shared by the Profilux.