PDA

View Full Version : Nano tank subtle differences

cyberloach
03-11-2008, 02:36 AM
Hi Im new to the hobby and have been doing lots of research and review of many of the all-in-one nano tanks.
I'm looking at a lost cost nano probably with PC lights.
My question is what are the subtle differences between model/brands.
Are some easier to mod, easier to get a small skimmer in there ect...
Any help would be much appricaited

Boomboy
03-11-2008, 02:52 AM
wow this is a huge question to answer. ok well for nano- info this is the best site to get it. nano-reef.com there are the biocube, aquapod, solana, the nanocube, well this is most of the basic ones, you could always build yourself an all in one, pretty easy once you look around a bit. i personally like the solana the best, because of the open top look, and its the biggest i think. i think all of the other 3 probably need to be modded in one way or another, im not sure which one but either the nanocube or biocube needs 2nd chamber modded. if your going to get an hqi in these systems better get ready to either a) get a cooler (waste of money in my opinion) b) mod the hoods and install more fans. but youve just got to look at them all and see the few differences in them, the size i think they all come in different sizes, and trust me you will want the biggest one of them, even if you dont fill it up, just easier water parameters. didnt really help much just got the ball rolling for you, check out that site helps lots,

mseepman
03-11-2008, 04:11 AM
One other nano to look at would be Cadlights if you are planning on getting the HQI version. This one is also good for the open top look.

ElGuappo
03-11-2008, 04:17 AM
my RED SEA MAX has skimmer baffles media filter al in small sump behind glass i have added nothing but acouple more powerheads. look at the bottom of page 2 top of page3 for TANK shots.

Stones
03-11-2008, 08:56 AM