PDA

View Full Version : aquascaping

nats
03-01-2008, 08:20 PM
I will be starting my aquascaping next week on my 90 gal reef tank. I would like to know some do's and don'ts on placing live rock. What should I be considering in the placement. appox 90 to 100 pounds
Thank you

ElGuappo
03-01-2008, 08:46 PM
i am a newbie but the one thing i have learned about aquascaping is that you need lots of little nooks and crannies between the rock for fish to swim throu and hide i personally find that the more cracks and crevaces you have the happier my rusty angel and tobbacco bass. the inverts really like it to gives them lots of hiding spots. keep in mind that you dont need huge gaps. my fish ar happy trying to make themselves fit into small holes.

digital-audiophile
03-01-2008, 08:54 PM
The first lesson is that as soon as you think you have your aquascaping figured out.. you will want to change it :p

You just need to find what works for your tank and your stocking plans. I have an internal centre overflow in my 90 so I had to work around it, but I think I have what I want now.

I agree that it is good to have spots that your fish can swim through and hide/sleep in. Also depending on your stocking plans be sure to make lots of ledges and nooks to tuck in corals.. especially if you are going SPS as they seem to be on big *** plugs as upposed to the small little aquacultured rocks I always used to see.

My photo skills suck but this is what mine looks FWIW

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w319/digital-audiophile/Fish%20Tank/FTS2-Copy.jpg

nats
03-01-2008, 09:20 PM
That Looks Really Nice. How Far Is The Rock In The Back And Sided From The Glass?

digital-audiophile
03-02-2008, 12:14 AM