PDA

View Full Version : Sand or no sand?

Rene
02-28-2008, 02:46 PM
Hi, I'm new to this saltwater thing and I have been getting some conflicting advise. So I thought I would ask all of you your opinions. Should I put sand in my new 225 reef tank, or should I leave it glass bottom? If sand, how much?

Thanks for the help!

Whatigot
02-28-2008, 03:22 PM
you might as well ask people which way they vote...
It's always an issue of contention, it should depend on your plans for filtration, maintenance and aesthetics.
Many people swear by the benefits of a deep sand bed while others vehemently hate them and the maintenance they can entail.

not very helpfull I know, but this is what I learned when I was asking this same question on this same forum:razz:

cheech
02-28-2008, 03:41 PM
I'd go sand, shallow bed, (1-2"), and keep your DSB for a seperate fuge.

Not that there's anything wrong with a sandless tank, I just think they don't look good!

BMW Rider
02-28-2008, 03:47 PM
If you like how sand makes the tank look, then add sand. If you like the look of bare glass on the bottom, then don't add sand. Both methods have their strong and weak points for maintenance. True deep sand beds are problematic and little used anymore. Most sand beds are just for aesthectics or to provide realistic habitat for certain livestock such as pistol shrimp, gobies, jawfish etc.

digital-audiophile
02-28-2008, 03:52 PM
I had really thought about going BB but decided in the end that I really like the way sand looks. As long as you have snails/crabs/sea stars/fish that clean your sandbed you can't go wrong.

Whatigot
02-28-2008, 04:01 PM
I'd go sand, shallow bed, (1-2"), and keep your DSB for a seperate fuge.

Not that there's anything wrong with a sandless tank, I just think they don't look good!

why>?

hillbillyreefer
02-28-2008, 04:09 PM