PDA

View Full Version : Planted tank pics

trilinearmipmap
02-15-2003, 08:26 PM
Well here (http://www.rupert.net/~mryeburn/pictures.htm) are some pics of my planted FW tank and my plant trading website. The pics aren't so good as I am still learning my digital camera.

I am lurking on these boards seeking to set up a reef sometime soon.

MitchM
02-16-2003, 04:20 AM
Very nice!

.......(I'm starting to miss freshwater....)

Mitch :)

Canadian Man
02-16-2003, 05:34 AM
Nice pics!
My angels just laid some eggs this morning! Again :roll:

Dorkel Marine 1
02-16-2003, 07:16 AM
Your photos are good. Don't be so modest. Nice looking tanks. I'm looking forward one day to putting more light over my 77 gal plus a new substrate. But right now this addiction to saltwater has me spending my money on the reef.

Curious the 33 gal. What lighting did you use to get the 90watts of light.

George and family

Son Of Skyline
02-16-2003, 08:46 AM
Beautiful tanks! How much time do you spend trimming the plants?

trilinearmipmap
02-16-2003, 03:55 PM
George:

To get 90 watts of light, I got a twin-tube 36" strip light from MOPS (about a hundred bucks I recall) then at Canadian Tire I bought a 36 watt "gro & sho" plant light" (about 15 bucks I recall) and attached the plant light onto the back of the strip light. I had to use some metal hooks to route the wires in the back of the strip light.

Mason:

I spend about 30 minutes every 2 weeks trimming and pruning.

As far as online plant trading, I live far away from any good retail source of plants. If anyone could send me a red tiger lotus (Nymphaea zenkeri) or Rotala Macrandra I would gladly send them an assortment of cuttings of all my plants.

smokinreefer
05-18-2003, 06:17 PM
oh the memories...
nice tank by the way.

my recently deceased 135 reeftank, used to be a java biotope tank, full of bog wood covered in java ferns and moss.