PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on RO/DI systems

Stones
01-22-2008, 05:12 AM
Just wondering how much of a difference it makes for a RO/DI setup to have 2 DI filters as opposed to just having one.

Also, has anyone ever used a RO/DI system with a "catalytic carbon" filter in it? I've only seen one system with such a filter and was wondering if it is worth the extra dollar they are asking for it. Apparently its used to filter out chloramines...

If anyone could recommend any good RO/DI filter systems as well, I'd like to hear your opinions on how well they perform. Thanks.

hillbillyreefer
01-22-2008, 06:21 AM
I've got an aquasafe. For some reason they don't have the best reputation. In my experience it's been a good unit. I just changed the filters yesterday, I've been running it for 5 years. I know they should be changed more often. My tap water is around 1300 on the TDS and pre change the unit was at 83. After running about 30 gals through the pressure tanks and system I'm down to 0 on the TDS. That 83 reading was after 5 years of skunky well water, family of 4, neighbour who gets 10 gal/week and 8 fish tanks totalling about 250 gal. So she put through a ton of water.

HTH
Brad

Myka
01-23-2008, 02:35 AM
Depends what your tap water is like. My tap water has a tds of 92, and the water coming out of my RO is 1 ppm, so my DI cartridge doesn't have to work very hard at all.

I think each DI cartridge can only filter up to 40 ppm, so if your water after going through RO is higher than 40, then you'll need additional DI. I am not so sure I am correct on that though...

DanG
01-23-2008, 03:28 AM
I've got an aquasafe that I'm very happy with. I've had it for just over 2 years now and it's working great. Takes my 75ppm tap water and knocks it down to 0 ppm.
I bought the maximus kit that came with a case of filters, enough to change them 7 times, so at that rate, it should be good for 14 years at my current usage.

Borderjumper
01-23-2008, 03:38 AM