PDA

View Full Version : Zeovit vs Polyp Lab

Sushiman
01-17-2008, 02:12 AM
I'm thinking of going this direction with my system, these products have been around awhile now, feedback by actual user's?

littlesilvermax
01-17-2008, 03:22 AM
Talking with Jeff at J&L I would go with Zeo. He has used both and says Zeo actually made a difference in his system, and also costs less in the long run.

I have been running PolypLabs for about 5 months now, and I haven't really noticed any difference. I am discontinuing when my current supply runs out.

albert_dao
01-17-2008, 03:38 AM
Zeo > Polylab.

calkrog
01-17-2008, 03:51 AM
i did quite a bit of reading of old posts on this a while recently, and it appears that zeo is the way to go. i dont like the idea of this bacterial film that sludges your tank that some people are reporting using polyp lab, and people are also reporting bad effects when stopping using it. the idea of the zeo reactor and that giving the bacteria somewhere to grow seems the way to go to me. so because of that i have ordered 12' of acrylic pipe today and i am starting to build reactors.

surgeonfish
01-17-2008, 05:32 AM
I have used both. I used polyplab for 5-6 months and saw some growth in my SPS with no effects when I stopped (but did not stop cold turkey). I have been using zeo for >1 month and think the growth is probably better. My tank parameters have deteriorated when starting the zeo. My PO4 went from 0.01 to 0.10 with some hair algae growth. However, the PO4 is improving. I would go with zeo, although obtaining a reactor is a pain.

p.s. it is difficult to keep the reactor full of water when it is turned off. You are supposed to turn it on and off every three hours initially while your nutrients are high. This usually involves some form of modification.

atcguy
01-17-2008, 06:56 AM
Ultra Lith by Fauna marine has done wonders for my tank!!!! OA sells the stuff,. his tank is on this product aswell. My color and growth has improved big time.

Sushiman