PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on 20K SE metal halide bulbs

Stones
01-03-2008, 01:19 AM
Just wondering if anyone could recommend a good 20K SE metal halide bulb to be used on a HQI ballast.

I have been running Reef Optics 20K 250 Watt for several years now but I'm sure the bulbs (or manufacturer) has changed since last year as the colour is no longer as purple/blue as the original bulbs I had. My HQI ballast also runs SE bulbs a little hotter than they are supposed to so the colour typically shifts to a lower colour temperature than bulbs should be.

If anyone knows of a SE bulb that runs quite purple/blue on a HQI ballast, I'd like to know as I'm going to have to change mine out asap. Thanks.

fkshiu
01-03-2008, 05:07 AM
The XM 20K is pretty good. For the ultimate pop albeit at the cost of PAR and any longterm usage the Radium 20K is still a classic.

StirCrazy
01-03-2008, 05:13 AM
the radium 250 is a sweet bulb when run on a HQI ballast.

Steve

Stones
01-03-2008, 03:07 PM
The radium was the main bulb I was considering however I've read several reviews that said it didn't emit a real nice purplish colour and was actually closer to a 14K bulb than a 20K bulb. The nice thing about the Radiums is that they were meant to run on a HQI ballast.

I'm also a big fan of XM bulbs but have never tried them on a HQI ballast. Has anyone ever used the 20K XM's on a HQI before?

The last bulb I was considering was the 20K Sun Aquatics, as a review I read said that it had a deeper purple colour than did the Radium 20K. I have used their 10K in the past on my HQI ballast and it ran way too yellow for my liking, but I'm unfamiliar with their 20K bulbs.

Doug
01-03-2008, 04:32 PM
Actually I believe Radiums were designed to run on pulse starts in Europe, even though most do overdrive them with HQI ballasts. Like most overdriven bulbs though, they require more frequent changing.