PDA

View Full Version : Herbie splashing

digital-audiophile
12-30-2007, 01:16 AM
Let me say I wish I had tracked down a gate valve, dialing this thing in with a ball valve is a pain in the old butt!

Because of the returns limiting the height of my emergency overflow the water drops about 4" to the water line. I am getting a little bit of splashing noise but nothing too horrible, since this is my first time with a herbie is this normal? or am I/did I do something wrong?

Static
12-30-2007, 01:36 AM
I have the same problem, and i just put a pvc extension on my emergency overflow, so that I can raise the water level and only have 1 inch of fall.

is there anyway you can raise/extend your secondary overflow line?

And I agree very much with you about trying to make fine adjustments with a ball valve. It's nearly impossible to get it just perfect.

Myles

Chin_Lee
12-30-2007, 02:36 AM
herbie method is almost impossible with a gate valve. the increments for the change in flow is ever so slight that the ball valve cannot achieve this; a slight turn in the ball valve is a already few degrees.

fkshiu
12-30-2007, 03:36 AM
You almost have to have a gate with a Herbie overflow.

I find that having the water exit just below the water level in the sump helps splashing. Also, having just a trickle going down the emergency overflow line greatly reduces the amount of fiddling you have to do.

Skimmin
12-30-2007, 04:04 AM
I hear you there. I went and spent a bunch of $$$ on true union ball valves to find out they SUCK for Herbies. I have 1 1/2" drains so the valves were about $50 each! Oh well you live, you learn. One day I'll swallow my pride and cut out these pain in the but ball valves.:smile:

jasond
12-30-2007, 06:50 AM