PDA

View Full Version : 80g Cylinder Tank

Telford
12-12-2007, 12:01 AM
I'm a newbie and just starting a 80g acrylic cylinder tank. Does anyone have experience with cylinder tanks and if so is there anything in particular that i should know about them that is different from any other shape of tank. So far i have sand, live rock and hermits!

kwirky
12-12-2007, 12:36 AM
I'm a newbie and just starting a 80g acrylic cylinder tank. Does anyone have experience with cylinder tanks and if so is there anything in particular that i should know about them that is different from any other shape of tank. So far i have sand, live rock and hermits!

don't let the kids throw tonka trucks at it and bust up your very expensive tank? must be nice; you gotta put some pics up when it's ready :)

Telford
12-12-2007, 03:24 AM
No worries about tonka trucks...no little buggas around to do that kinda thing. It's still the ultimate bachelor pad...lol

StirCrazy
12-12-2007, 03:25 AM
what are the dimentions of the tank?

Steve

Telford
12-12-2007, 03:29 AM
It's 32" high by 28" across

danny zubot
12-12-2007, 04:12 AM
You are very lucky to have that type of tank, I've always loved them but can't afford one.....yet.

I used to have a 54 gallon corner tank which is also a pretty ood shape. my biggest issues with it were getting the flow right and lighting. I think you should should have an easier time with lighting for a cylinder shaped tank than my old pie shaped tank. Any 24" light should fit over it. I would put a MH/T5 combo over that tank if it were mine.

As far as flow goes, good luck! Right off the bat I'm thinking a closed loop through the bottom would work well. Do you know if the tank bottom is tempered? Do you have an overflow.

Telford
12-12-2007, 04:18 AM
Yes...it's a center overflow with sump and filter in a cabinet underneath.

danny zubot
12-12-2007, 04:32 AM
what are you using for flow right now?

untamed
12-12-2007, 05:37 AM