PDA

View Full Version : Info on tang

andestang
01-27-2003, 08:20 PM
Seen a picture of a Dussumieri Tang - great looking fish - anyone ever have one or heard about them. Trying to do homework first and not buy on impulse, not that I've done that before :roll: :wink:
Ande

Troy F
01-27-2003, 10:19 PM
Awesome fish, central and south pacific native that grows to almost 16". Zebrasoma desjardanii is the scientific name and it goes by the common name of Red Sea Sailfin as well as desjardani tang. You need a large tank for this one but man are they beautiful.

Troy F
01-27-2003, 11:17 PM
Sorry, I'm apparently blind. Ignore my post and I have no info or experience with the dussumieri tang/surgeon :) . You'll have an answer soon though.

Thanks Tony :oops:

andestang
01-27-2003, 11:18 PM
16" - wow :shock: , good excuss for third tank ? :D - thanks
Ande

andestang
01-27-2003, 11:19 PM
opps - responded to soon :oops: I guess we're even
Ande

Delphinus
01-27-2003, 11:24 PM
And not to pick nits, but Z. desjardini is from the Red Sea, whereas its cousin Z. veliferum is found in the South Pacific. They look very similar although there are subtle differences.

8) :P :D

Troy F
01-27-2003, 11:38 PM
Your probably right Tony but my reference places them both in the Central and South Pacific. I know that Red Sea in the common name is a bit of a give away. I had a conversation with an LFS owner about this and he mentioned that he received both from the same supplier and same area.

EmilyB
01-28-2003, 01:40 AM
Might be of interest to you:

http://reefs.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=113755&highlight=dussumieri#113755

StirCrazy
01-28-2003, 01:58 AM