PDA

View Full Version : Some information about ordering aquarium equipment from the U.S.A.

trilinearmipmap
11-03-2007, 06:59 PM
Someone asked me this in a PM so I thought I would post it here.

If you order something from the U.S.A. there are a few shipping options. Most places will ship either U.P.S. or U.S. Postal Service. There is also Fedex but I have no experience with receiving items via Fedex.

The fees you will pay are:

1. Shipping Cost

Here is the UPS shipping cost calculator:

http://wwwapps.ups.com/servlet/QCCServlet

And here is the U.S. Postal Service shipping cost calculator:

http://ircalc.usps.gov/

2. GST and PST will be assessed when your item goes through customs, whether you ship by UPS or US Postal Service.

3. The customs brokerage fee is a rip-off fee the shipper charges to fill out a few papers to get your shipment through customs. If you ship by US Postal Service it will be a flat $5.00 fee. UPS charges a sliding scale.

Here is the link for UPS brokerage fees which for most orders will be around the $50.00 to $60.00 range.

http://www.ups.com/content/ca/en/shipping/cost/zones/customs_clearance.html

4. No customs duty is payable on items made in the U.S.A., but items made in foreign countries are dutiable. However I have never had to pay any duty regardless of where the item was made, it looks like they overlook this at customs.

The fees (GST, PST, brokerage fee and any customs duty) will be charged by UPS or Canada Post when you receive your shipment. So even if you pay for shipping at the time of your order, you have to pay the GST PST and brokerage fee and duty in addition. If you don't pay it, you don't receive your order.

I have had good experiences shipping from the US both via US Postal Service and UPS. Because of the high brokerage fees, I have used UPS only for big-ticket items where the brokerage fee makes up a relatively small amount compared to the overall cost of the item.