PDA

View Full Version : Noobie Questions!

JPeach
10-15-2007, 05:49 AM
Hey all,

I'm relatively new to reefing... I had wanted a salt water tank since I was a kid. In July I took the plunge and decided to set up a 14 Gallon Nano. The tank is looking great and keep trying to plan it out every day.

So far I have 14 Pounds of Live Rock ( from Golds ), 2 Clowns, 1 Flame Angle, 1 Dwarf Red Starfish, 1 Peppermint shrimp, and 2 Snails. One Frag of "toadstool Coral" and One Zoanthid ( about 14 Polyps ).

I Love this tank but I don't want to shock it by adding to much. These are my future plans any advise would be welcome.

add one piece of Coral every week for 5 - 6 weeks
Froggspawn
2-more types of Zoanthids
3 unknown at this time SPS?

1 - Coral Beauty, Will it fight with my flame angel? - add in 2 weeks
1 - Skunk Cleaner shrimp, Will it fight with the peppermint shrimp? add in 2 weeks
1 - Blue Mandarin - Add in 3 Months
1 - Maxima Clam - I realize it will out grow the tank... I have future plans... Will the flame angle attack it?

Should I add Hermit Crabs and more snails?

Any suggestions or tips would be great

Thanks

albert_dao
10-15-2007, 06:43 AM
I'd scrap all of the non-coral livestock plans. Won't work in that size of tank. The flame will also need to be moved with time.

whiteice669
10-15-2007, 06:45 AM
In my opion you are already at the max for a 14g ,dwarf angles will fight to the death in a small tank and most times in a large tank

Zylumn
10-15-2007, 06:46 AM
See if Gold's will give you credit or $ back for the Flame Angel. I would not add ANYTHING else.
By the way welcome to the hobby. My advice would be take the Flame back and READ, READ, READ about this hobby.
Good Luck and keep posting your ?'s. Water Parameters, lighting , would be helpful.
Kevin

JPeach
10-15-2007, 07:12 AM
awsome this is the feedback i was looking for...

The tank I have is an Oceanic Biocube 14.