PDA

View Full Version : Clowns with dark coloration - with pic

Eduardo
09-10-2007, 04:30 PM
Hi All,

I'm a newbie to salt.

I've had a couple of clowns in my tank for about 3 months now. They were the first fish inhabitants (the only other fish inhabitant to my 30 gallon tank is a firefish) to the tank and they were purchased at about 1 1/2". Within the first week of purchase they darkened considerably and have remained that way. They eat well but stay in the back of the tank most of the time.

The only other inhabitants to the tank (that I know of) are a 5 snails, a blue legged hermit, 2 emerald crabs, pom pom crab, fire shrimp, green star polyp and an open brain coral (I just bought this a few days ago and the clowns aren't even interested in hosting it).

All other parameters in the tank seem to be normal and I keep the temp at 77.

Will the clowns remain this color? Will they eventually become more active?

Appreciate the input.

Der_Iron_Chef
09-10-2007, 04:38 PM
I'm not sure why they darkened up like that, but I think they're gorgeous. Care to sell them? :D

Does the firefish hide as well, or is it fairly active?

marlincoral
09-10-2007, 04:44 PM
our clowns stayed in the back when we got them they were hosting on our over flow.now they host in our leater near the front.

Eduardo
09-10-2007, 04:54 PM
Thanks for the quick replies.

Der Iron Chef, I don't think I can sell them to you as I'd have a hard time explaining to the kids why I sold Mr. Bob and Nemo.:smile:

Firefish is active and out in front for most of the day but retreats under rock about an hour before the daylight shuts off.

clowns and firefish acknowledge each other but are not aggressive to each other.

Der_Iron_Chef
09-10-2007, 05:53 PM
Der Iron Chef, I don't think I can sell them to you as I'd have a hard time explaining to the kids why I sold Mr. Bob and Nemo.:smile: