PDA

View Full Version : making a stand

super7
09-07-2007, 06:16 PM
wondering if anyone has made a tank stand before from metal. If so what problems did you run into and what where your solutions.

hollywood
09-07-2007, 07:02 PM
I am a welder by trade and I have made a few stands for clients and the biggest thing would be to make sure it is square and level! After that you want to seal it with a primer and paint to avoid rust. Thats it.

Joe Reefer
09-07-2007, 07:04 PM
I would recomend having it powder coated after its built. My stand is metal and after 6 months it is showing signs of rust in areas where the paint is chipped.

Static
09-07-2007, 10:12 PM
http://www.canreef.com/photopost/data/500/DSC00382_-_Copy.JPG

http://www.canreef.com/photopost/data/500/DSC00402_-_Copy.JPG

I definitely recommend powder coating if you can afford it. Think about automobile manufacturers, they're pretty good at painting, but steel and salt water will always end up rusting.

I used industrial enamel and painted my stand myself. I'm fairly confident it will last a couple years before it starts rusting.

Good luck

Redrover
09-07-2007, 11:39 PM
Looks great...job well done Static:grab:

Palster
09-08-2007, 03:17 AM
I built my own metal stand for my 135 Gallon out of 1 inch square tubing and angle iron. Like Holywood said square and level are the key to pretty much any project. When welding metal it is always a good idea to do a tack weld and double check that everything is square before laying down the final bead of weld (with a tack weld you can always re-adjust). I painted my stand with the stone look spray paint and it has held up surprisingly well to salt water (much better than regular spray paint). One other thing that I did was lay down some thin rubber between the stand and tank to more evenly distribute the load of the tank on the stand.

super7
09-11-2007, 05:58 PM