PDA

View Full Version : LFS "advice".

fishytime
08-23-2007, 01:33 AM
Was just reading about this in another post and it prompted me to post this.I was at a lfs on the weekend looking for a suitable fish for my 20g reef.I was hum-in and ha-in over what to get when the lfs dude asked if I needed any help. So I explained to him that I had a 20g reef that has a clown(ocellaris), Six line, and a royal gramma. Told him I kinda wanted something that was blue and reef safe and he steered me toward a tank full of powder blue (I think) tangs(2"). I told him that I didnt think that a tang would be a good fit and he tried for about a minute to get me to buy the tang. Now, this is supposed to be one of the better stores in town. It really burns me when a store that you are supposed to be able to trust dishes out the "this is what we need to sell" advice instead of "the you know we dont have anything for you at the moment" advice that I should have received. Now if I had been a complete newb(which he obviously took me for) I would have a blue tang in my 20. Its to bad I had nothing bad at all to say about this store before this.

michika
08-23-2007, 02:44 AM
That is too bad, I'm sorry you had a bad experience.

I hope you are able to find a suitable small blue fish!

fishytime
08-23-2007, 03:07 AM
Thought damsel for a little while there, but one thing kept going through my head:twised: Thought maybe I would roll the dice with a cherub angel.

Skimmer Juice
08-23-2007, 03:22 AM
You should look for a small lyeirtale goby I got a really cool blue one. He is about 2 inches full grown, and is out and active all the time.

Zylumn
08-23-2007, 03:25 AM
Doug I think most places in town know you and understand your level of commitment to knowledge in this reef hobby. I am surprised a salesperson felt you wouldn't be offended over inappropriate advice.