PDA

View Full Version : Sump help please?

cav~firez22
08-05-2007, 12:05 AM
Hi everyone,

I just bought a 135 Gallon Tank, stand canopy, sump & pump system.

I am having issues with my sump, as i am new to this setup.

Here is a pic of the sump, running.
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y175/d3vil_Z22/135_Gallon_reef/79f107f1.jpg

My issue is micro bubbles. i think

My tank is just clouded with them. its not crystal clear at all.
I have the returns backed to around half, and there are still micro bubbles going in to the 3rd chamber of the sump.

Any input on how to have the sump setup would be great... ie. filter media.

Der_Iron_Chef
08-05-2007, 12:13 AM
Lots of people swear by the use of filter socks to eliminate microbubbles (as well as to collect detritus). Not sure where it would go, exactly. Where's the output of your skimmer?

cav~firez22
08-05-2007, 12:18 AM
no skimmer yet

just a UV steralizer , and a DIY Coil Denitrator.

Denitrator outputs in the first chamer, UV outputs under water in the 3rd chamber

mark
08-05-2007, 12:42 AM
Often the baffles are arranged over-under-over, might mod that.

Another thing to try is putting another baffle on the far right, with the bottom corners cut a bit at a 45°. You don't want the baffle completely sealed as then you're limiting the volume available for evaporation.

And I second the socks.

cav~firez22
08-05-2007, 12:44 AM
ya gonna try to find socks for it

Redrover
08-05-2007, 12:48 AM
http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k81/Redrover_02/DSCN0253-1.jpg
Here's a pic of my H/S in sump skimmer...I don't quiet know what your doing..
What's the filter pad doing laying over top of your baffles...I recommend a good skimmer. Mybe PM Marc
What's the wood doing under first baffle...No water flow?
I only use a sock for two days after a water change, then remove it.
Water line should be close to the top of your second baffle...get rid of filter pad
RJ

cav~firez22
08-05-2007, 12:52 AM