PDA

View Full Version : Your Thoughts

Reef_Ready
01-18-2002, 12:03 AM
Hello, my name is Ray and this is my first post on your board. Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm new to hobby, and have been doing my research for the last couple of months (also lurking on the news groups and this board). I’m ready to purchase a tank and just wanted to get everyone’s opinion. I’m looking at the Oceanic 72g reef ready Bowfront. My question to all of you is… will I be kicking myself in 6 months because I didn’t get a bigger tank? I keep reading the “I wish I got a bigger tank” posts.

Anyway, love to hear what you think. I’m sure I’ll be getting to know you all quite well over the next several months as I get started.

BTW I’d like join if you are (or have) put together a local Marine club as I read in the posts before Christmas. I’m located in Port Coquitlam.

Thanks!

titus
01-18-2002, 12:41 AM
Hello,

Welcome to join this very warm and nice family. You will be happy to see many new features to be added in the coming time.

Now to answer your question, it is really a personal opinion.

Pros:
Obviously the bigger, the bolder and grander.
You get more thrill running a larger tank.
Water parameters won't change as drastic compared to a small tank.
More room to grow and for your species to thrive.

Cons:
Higher up front cost, not because of the tank but the equipment as well.
Weight problem in your house (ie your floor may not be built for a super duper tank).
Expensive for laying a DSB and salt for your water mix.
More places to scrub your algae off, if you have it.

One thing you may not have read as often is that going for a smaller tank may not mean you are a less skilled marine keeper. Sometimes, it's the very skilled and experienced who wants the challenge to run a tiny dingy tank.

If you have specific things you want to talk, please PM me as that has a higher chance of getting to me in case I missed your post.

Happy browsing.

Troy F
01-18-2002, 01:59 AM