PDA

View Full Version : all hail carbon!! why?

fishface
05-21-2007, 04:52 PM
so am i the only person that cannot for the life of me, notice the great clarifying benefits of carbon? all other posts i read about people saying how great it is. i've been running it now, on and off(mostly on) for the last 6 months or so and for the life of me...if i quit, i really don't think i would notice a difference.

can anyone else out there say the same?

Snappy
05-21-2007, 05:54 PM
I run carbon but not for clarity. Since I have a mixed reef I use it to absorb toxins and minimize the chemical warfare that is going on in my tank. For clarity I use 200 micron prefilter socks hooked in to the overflow pipe in my sump.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
05-21-2007, 06:05 PM
I use Chemipure once in a while, especially when I suspect there is some kind of chemical warfare or release going on (ie. when my Sea Hare spewed purple dye into the tank).

Anthony

kwirky
05-21-2007, 07:39 PM
i'm cutting back my carbon ussage considerably because my softies have been reacting adversely against it.

fishface
05-21-2007, 07:49 PM
i'm cutting back my carbon ussage considerably because my softies have been reacting adversely against it.interesting...what sort of reactions?

christyf5
05-21-2007, 08:03 PM
I thought the same thing until I started running carbon in a phosban reactor. The difference for me was night and day, its much more efficient than having it in a bag in the sump IMO.

Doug
05-21-2007, 10:36 PM
I run carbon but not for clarity. Since I have a mixed reef I use it to absorb toxins and minimize the chemical warfare that is going on in my tank. For clarity I use 200 micron prefilter socks hooked in to the overflow pipe in my sump.

Greg, would the socks not just removed detritus, which certainly would add to the clarity of the water, and not the yellowing of the water, which I believe carbon is suppose to remove?

Doug
05-21-2007, 10:41 PM