PDA

View Full Version : What's in a name?

Ruth
04-28-2007, 07:07 PM
This might have been done before but - one of the joys of being old - I can't remember so I thought I would start it up again.
I always wonder at some of the user ID's that appear and what prompted people to choose that particular name.
I mean mine is pretty basic and after much thought and consternation I choose "Ruth" because - well.......that's my name:redface: I know not original or anything but at least, for now, I can remember it.
So share your secrets:mrgreen:

OCDP
04-28-2007, 07:30 PM
OCDP ...

While most people seem to think (and I can't blame them) that OCDP = Obesessive Compulsive Disorder Person.

However, OCDP = Orange County Drum & Percussion. A really great drum company out of.... orange county.... they make some of the most innovative drums and drum designs. Being a drummer myself... I like the company and decided to use it as my name across many boards.

Doug
04-28-2007, 07:40 PM
:mrgreen:

mark
04-28-2007, 08:45 PM
it's my name

Der_Iron_Chef
04-28-2007, 09:47 PM
"Der_Iron_Chef" combines two great loves of mine: Cooking (and, subsequently, the TV show, The Iron Chef) und die deutsche Sprache (and the German language)!

I chose this name five years ago while living and working in Germany. I also use it for my online blog and pbase photography site.

christyf5
04-29-2007, 12:35 AM
The first email account I signed up for didn't allow me to go with just christy and I didn't want to make people type out my last name. Apparently there were 4 other christys that signed up before me. I started using it for all the BBs I signed up for because well it was a struggle to come up with anything else (sometimes I'm not very original :razz:).

I remember StirCrazy thought it was because I kept hitting the F5 button which refreshes the page as I am constantly on here (however I refresh the page using the IE refresh button) :mrgreen:

Scavenger
04-29-2007, 02:18 AM